Authors Devika Cariapa and Shabnam Minwalla win the AutHer Best Children’s Author Award

March 18, 2024by Team EKC0

India’s most coveted Women AutHer Awards announced the winners for 2024. The prizes were awarded in four major categories – Fiction, Non-Fiction, Children’s Literature, and Debut. A Lifetime Achievement award, a Prize in the Popular Choice category (based on an online poll), and a Best Manuscript Award were also given. Authors Devika Cariapa and Shabnam Minwalla both were on the receiving end of the AutHer Best Children’s Author Award 2024 for their books A Children’s History of India in 100 Objects and Zen respectively.

Here is the list of all winners:

  1. Best Author Fiction: Tashan Cyrus Mehta won the award for Mad Sisters of Esi (HarperCollins India) and Sonora Jha won the award for The Laughter (Penguin Random House).
  2. Best Author Non-fiction: Sudha Bharadwaj received the award for her book From Phansi Yard: My Year with the Women of Yerawada (Juggernaut Publications).
  3. Best Author Debut Award: Rajasree Variyar won for her book The Daughters of Madurai (Hachette India) and Neerja Chowdhury for How Prime Ministers Decide (Aleph Book Company).
  4. Best Children’s Author: Devika Cariapa for A Children’s History of India in 100 Objects (Penguin Random House) and Shabnam Minwalla for Zen (Penguin Random House).
  5. Popular Choice Award: Sahar Zaman for Talat Mahmood: A Definitive Biography (Self-published).
  6. Lifetime Achievement Award: Mridula Garg was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award for her timeless contribution to Indian writing in both English and Hindi languages.
  7. Best Manuscript: Vibha Sangeeta Krishnakumar for Kaushalya.
  8. Jury Honorable Mentions: Linthoi Chanu for Wayel Kati – The Quest of the Seven Guardians (Niyogi Books).
  9. Certificates of Excellence: Nandini Nayar for her book A Sailor Called Wet Paint and Other Secret Stories from India (Hachette India).

The AutHer awards celebrate the contributions of women authors who have, despite all the biases added value and creativity to this space.

Image Credits: AutHer Awards

Team EKC